Inactive enrollments are students previously enrolled in a course but who have been dropped from the course. They no longer can access course content.
- Inactive enrollments cannot view the name of the course in their Courses list or see a
course card in the Canvas Dashboard.
- Inactive enrollments cannot be sent or receive messages through any messaging
option in Canvas.
- Inactive enrollments cannot be added to any groups in a course. If the student was
already in a group when he or she was deactivated, the student no longer has access
to the group; other students in the group cannot view inactive students in the group
- If necessary, instructors can still access any previously submitted assignments from
inactive enrollments, both in Assignments and SpeedGrader.
- Instructors can still assign grades to inactive students. However, inactive students
cannot view grades or receive any notifications about assignment comments.